Peppermint Truffles

16 Dec

Peppermint Truffles

So my mom and I were doing some holiday shopping and decided to stop at Starbucks for a refreshment.   Refreshments we got, as well as these guys:

Starbucks Pop

Taste test:

Starbucks Pop

Tasty.  And then I thought to myself, I just spent $3 on 2 of these guys.  That’s cray cray!  And I don’t get it, they are called Peppermint Brownie Cake Pops at Starbucks, but I looked it up, and it’s chocolate cake mix.  No brownie in it at all.  So it’s more of just a cake pop.  I know, I’m just hating.  Anyway, I went to the store and decided to try it my way.

You will need:

Favorite brownie mix (with all the ingredients to make them)

3/4 Package cream cheese

Peppermints

White chocolate

Toothpicks

Brownie Mix & White Chocolate

Make the brownies according to the box and let cool completely.  Then use a food processor to grind it really fine.

Crushed Brownies

Throw in 3/4 of a package of cream cheese and turn on the food processor until mixed.  Start balling up your truffles whatever size tickles your fancy.  Once balled, chill in the freezer for 5 minutes or the fridge for at least 15.  If you stick a toothpick in without cooling, it will probably slide right off.  No fun when dipping time comes.

Balled Up

Grind up the peppermints and set aside.

Crushed Peppermint

Melt your chocolate.  I put about 8 blocks in a bowl and microwave in 30 second increments.  I’ve found that white chocolate is much easier to burn and ruin than milk chocolate.  So take it slow.  30 seconds, stir.  Repeat as needed.  To make it more candy coated-like, add some canola or veggie oil to thin it out.  Stir in a teaspoon and mix well.  Use your spoon and make sure the chocolate drizzles off fast.  No oil means too thick and can be a little too much bite.  Thin makes your chocolate go a lot further, and it has that quick “pop” when you bite into it, if that even makes sense.  Start dipping.  Toothpicks are my favorite tool.  Stab one, dip in, and use a spoon to cover.

Dip

Once dipped, sprinkle immediately with your crushed peppermint.  If you wait too long, the chocolate will harden and the peppermint won’t stick.  I dip 1 or 2 and sprinkle.

Peppermint Truffles

All done!  And more satisfying than Starbucks.  They’re coating was more sugar with a little peppermint.  But kudos for the idea!  Keep in the fridge until serving!  Perfect for the holidays!  Enjoy!

Peppermint Truffles

Leave a comment