An Unexpected Addiction

15 Dec

It never occurred to me that the lowly saltine might be elevated to “Sweet Mother of Pearl, I must have another” stature, but it has some how come to pass. These little snacks appeared at work, and I was completely unable to keep my mitts out of the oily, herby bag they were housed in. So I Googled my best guess at these things (Spicy Saltines), and hit the mother lode. Apparently I’m not the only one who’s become hooked on these heart attack inducing squares of deliciousness.

SpicySaltines

Spicy Saltines

  • 1 box (4 sleeves) Saltines
  • 1 1/2 C canola oil
  • 1 (1 oz) package Ranch dip mix
  • 2T to 3T red pepper flakes, depending on your spice preference

Place saltines in a gallon zip top bag. Mix oil, ranch mix, and red pepper flakes in a bowl, then pour over saltines. Seal the bag and flip it several times to coat all crackers. Lay bag flat, and flip around every 30 minutes or so until most of the oil is absorbed (2 or so hours). I like to let these sit overnight for best flavor.

One Response to “An Unexpected Addiction”

  1. Tamara February 13, 2013 at 4:40 pm #

    I love these! Charlie is even more in love. I think we went through 6 boxes in 3 weeks.

Leave a Reply

Chocolate Covered Katie

The Healthy Dessert Blog

The Pioneer Woman

Plowing through Life in the Country...One Calf Nut at a Time

