Rad Tech Week

14 Nov

I’m only a few days late, but happy National Radiology Technology Week for my fellow comrades!

20121114-224456.jpg

On November 8, 1895, Mr. Wilhelm Roentgen took the first ever x-ray of his wife’s hand.

20121114-224556.jpg

And if I ever shot one like that today, I’d get fired. And the recipient would probably lose their hand. But any who, every year rad techs around the world celebrate a week with food and imaging gear. This year we were too broke for gear, but I’ll go for food before a femur pen anyway. It was a week of pizza, Moe’s, BBQ, and lots of homemade goodies. And being 2nd shift we tend to get the leftover pickings or nothing at all. So my favorite night was Greek. We have an awesome Greek restaurant across from the hospital. Ah-mazing.

20121114-224803.jpg

Thank you head honcho ER doc. Another day was everyone make a dessert, so it was an interesting day of rad techs bouncing off the walls. I made my mom’s classic Congo Squares. Everyone I work with has this recipe and for good reason. So pay attention.

Congo Squares

Preheat oven to 350 degrees

Spray 9 X 11 pan with nonstick cooking spray.

1 – 1 lb. box light brown sugar
3 eggs
1 ½ sticks margarine or butter, softened
2 ½ Cups self-rising flour
1 bag semi-sweet chocolate chips
Pecans or walnuts, chopped, if desired

Mix first three ingredients until well blended. Add flour and mix well. Add chocolate chips and nuts. Bake for 30 to 40 minutes.

Easy. Quick. Always a good go-to recipe when you want something quick and endless compliments.

20121114-224836.jpg

So the week before, I made the classic buffalo chicken dip and pondered, has anyone ever made a BBQ chicken dip. So I googled. And much to my disappointment it has been done. Many times. So, I looked at a bunch or recipes and came up with a mixture of them all.

BBQ Chicken Dip

Preheat oven to 350 degrees

Spray 9 X 13 pan with nonstick cooking spray.

2 – 12 oz cans of Swanson’s chicken
1 – 8 oz block cream cheese (softened)
3/4 cup favorite BBQ sauce
1/3 cup ranch
1/3 cup sour cream
1 cup cheddar cheese
Green onion (chopped)
Ritz crackers

Mix all ingredients except green onion. Pour into baking dish. Top with green onion. Bake 30 minutes until bubbly. Serve with crackers.

20121114-225310.jpg

The verdict? Tasty. However, my guilty pleasure stays with buffalo chicken dip. My tastebuds crave spice. I add cayenne, jalapeños, hot sauce, and crushed red pepper to whatever I can. So the BBQ chicken dip was good, but a little on the sweet side. My
coworkers enjoyed it, especially the ones that don’t care for zesty dishes. If I ever make it again, I’ll choose a spicier BBQ. But a good snack in the end.

20121114-225437.jpg
And to close, here is my buddy and mine’s bulletin board for the week. We would be awesome kindergarten teachers. Our boards are epic. And way better than ultrasound’s.

20121114-225616.jpg

Leave a Reply

Chocolate Covered Katie

The Healthy Dessert Blog

The Pioneer Woman

Plowing through Life in the Country...One Calf Nut at a Time

