Rock n’ Roll Half Marathon

12 Nov

Tamara and I decided last year, when we ran the Rock n’ Roll Half Marathon in Savannah, that we wanted to do it again this year. Last year was a bit of a trial run (or walk). We started training for it, then I got pregnant and training fell off the map. We did end up doing it anyway…we just walked most of it. And took many potty breaks. But we enjoyed the experience and thought it was worth doing again. Our Uncle Dennis did it with us – and whipped our tails. Below is a pic from last year – me (4 months pregnant), our Uncle Dennis, and Tamara.

I think UD (Uncle Dennis) finished in 2:30 last time. Pretty fast for an old guy. Just kidding! No really…pretty fast for anyone. Tamara and I took our sweet time and finished in something like 3:40. Ha. Sad. Definitely not my proudest moment, but what can I say? I had to pee like 10 times. Also, I could barely walk when we finished.

Our cheering section

Finish Line last year

So this year, we were sure we would have no problem beating that time. I’m pretty sure my 3 year old daughter could beat that time. I’ll be honest, training for me was touch and go. It was hard finding time to run 3 – 4 times per week, with 2 kids. My goal was to be under 2:40 this year. I finished in 2:39 and some change…not very fast, but also not bad for 6 months post baby! Tamara was close behind. And UD kicked our butts again and finished in 2:15ish. Below are some pics from race day.

Pre Race Potty Break at Henry’s

20121112-110756.jpg

Us at the starting line this year

20121112-110555.jpg

Post Race

So Tamara and I are planning to run another one (maybe two) next year…we’re thinking we’ll do the St. Patrick’s Day race in Virginia Beach and possibly the VB Rock n’ Roll Half as well. Any advice on training with two kids and cutting our times down to a 10 minute/mile pace?

Leave a Reply

Chocolate Covered Katie

The Healthy Dessert Blog

The Pioneer Woman

Plowing through Life in the Country...One Calf Nut at a Time

