Savannah Day of Festivals

28 Oct

One reason I love Savannah is that every weekend there is something new to do.  Today was the Savannah Food Day Festival in Daffin Park, which is described as an earth day but for food.  The food day fest basically wants to promote healthy eating, reduce hunger, protect the environment, and support organic farms and the conditions the farmers work in.  So my parents, grandmother and I went midtown to check it out!

These guys greeted us.  No idea what they are.  Too bad my nieces weren’t with us, because one is obsessed with pink and one with purple.  They would have each had their own personal guide the whole time.

Gnin was checking out the dogs for rescue.  I was wishing I had chicken coups and fresh eggs in my backyard.  And honey tents were everywhere.

Every tent had something different.  Fresh pastas, produce, cheeses, you name it.  Like this guy.  He was cooking us eggs on a cast iron skillet heated by a solar panel.  Epic.

And all the while there was live music.  Oh, and not to mention BEAUTIFUL weather.  Savannah rocks.  While it’s flooding up north, we enjoyed the weekend outdoors.

Since it was so nice out, we decided to head to Forsyth Park downtown to see how the Shalom Y’all Jewish Food Festival was going.

Corned beef, pastrami, stuffed cabbage, chopped liver, hummus, and matzah ball soup filled the air with yummy aromas.  And after all in the indecisiveness, we went in for the dessert.  I guess Apple Strudel is their staple.

Taste test time.  Even though I caught mom with the camera at a bad moment, we all really enjoyed the strudel.

You could tell me the most disgusting things are inside this, and I’d still probably eat it.  Crispy.  Powdered sugar.  Sold.

Good end to a good day.  Shalom y’all!

One Response to “Savannah Day of Festivals”

  1. Shannon November 4, 2012 at 8:20 pm #

    This looks like so much fun. You must let me know when next year’s festival is so I can plan a trip!

Leave a Reply

Chocolate Covered Katie

The Healthy Dessert Blog

The Pioneer Woman

Plowing through Life in the Country...One Calf Nut at a Time

