Aunt Pam’s Apple Cake

26 Oct

I recently bought a whole bag of organic apples so that I could make apple sauce for Baby J. He’s just starting solids and has really enjoyed everything we’ve given him so far…especially the apples. But the expensive organic apples were spoiling faster than he could eat them. So in true Kimberly fashion I decided to bake with them as opposed to just eating them the healthy way. My aunt is an excellent baker and my mom had emailed her apple cake recipe over awhile back so I thought I’d try it out.

You’ll need:

4 cups of apples peeled and chopped (recipe calls for Granny Smith, but I used golden delicious)

1 1/2 cups of sugar

2 eggs

3 cups all purpose flour

1 cup canola oil

1 tsp salt

1 tsp nutmeg (I didn’t have any so I doubled the cinnamon)

1 tsp cinnamon

2 tsp baking soda

1 cup chopped nuts

1 tsp vanilla

Preheat oven to 350 and grease a bundt pan or two loaf pans.

Mix your chopped apples with the sugar and let it sit while you assemble the rest of the recipe.

20121026-200231.jpg

Sift the flour, salt, cinnamon, nutmeg, and soda together.

20121026-200417.jpg

Add the oil, eggs, and vanilla to the flour mixture. It ends up looking like this :

20121026-200518.jpg

Then add the nuts and the apple mixture.

20121026-200623.jpg

Pour into your greased pan (pans in my case). Bake for about 50 minutes.

Voila.

20121026-200748.jpg

20121026-200943.jpg

Excellent cake/bread that you can eat for breakfast or dessert. I did both today. Yum.

Leave a Reply

Chocolate Covered Katie

The Healthy Dessert Blog

The Pioneer Woman

Plowing through Life in the Country...One Calf Nut at a Time

