Easiest Decorated Wooden Letters

13 Oct

I wish I were crafty. I have such ambitions of painting, cutting, pasting, decoupaging and the like, but alas, I either chicken out of doing a project (“What if it’s ugly!?”), or I lovingly buy all the required materials and become distracted by some other activity (“Squirrel!”).

When my daughter, Nadia, was born in 2010 I wanted to decorate her name letters for her room. I bought the wooden letters, painted them a pretty green, and hand painted a sweet flower detail. Then I stuffed them in a drawer and forgot about them. Sigh. I found those letters during our recent move, and decided that once and for all, those letters would hang! Unfortunately the lovely green didn’t match her new room, so a-Michaeling I went.

And I found the most darling little stick-on foam decorations. There are scores of design options: flowers, birds, airplanes, stars, dinosaurs. But I choose this set of ladybugs-and-leaves because my precocious daughter is in the Ladybug classroom at daycare.

   

This little set coupled with a can of glossy white spray paint made for the simplest makeover of those letters I can imagine. If you’re short on time or just not too crafty, give this project a try. Just paint your letters and allow to dry. Then arrange and stick the decals any way you choose. Try layering the pieces to add some texture. The result, I think, is pretty cute!

Leave a Reply

Chocolate Covered Katie

The Healthy Dessert Blog

The Pioneer Woman

Plowing through Life in the Country...One Calf Nut at a Time

