Trendy Pumpkin Refrigerator Oats

17 Nov

You’d think I was a big oatmeal fan considering this is my second oat related post, but that’s really not the case. A fluffy biscuit dripping with real butter and stuffed with bacon beats out oh so wholesome oats just about any day. Alas, fluffy biscuits make for fluffy waistlines (or in my  case, an even fluffier waistline… thanks, kids-o-my-loins), so sometimes I have to employ a measure of willpower and eat the darn oats.

A trend I’ve noticed on blogs and Pinterest lately is overnight refrigerator oatmeal, where time rather than cooking softens up the grains, and they’re eaten cold rather than hot. Sounded like a nice change-up from the typical, so I gave this recipe from eMeals blog a try. To my surprise, in addition to being super healthy, it’s really, really delightful. Once I tried a bite, I couldn’t keep my spoon out of the double batch sitting in my fridge. Between me and my toddler, it was gone in no time. Try this for a simple breakfast or as a snack… it’s quite delish!

Here’s my version of the eMeals recipe:

Pumpkin Refrigerator Oats

  • 1/3 cup milk
  • ¼ cup old-fashioned rolled oats*
  • ¼ cup plain yogurt (Greek or regular)
  • 1 teaspoon honey or agave nectar
  • ½ teaspoon cinnamon
  • ½ cup pumpkin puree

Place all ingredients in a half pint jar or small plastic container with a tight-fitting lid. Put on the lid and shake to combine. Refrigerate overnight or up to 3 days.

*This yields a pudding-like consistency. Add an additional 1/8 cup of oats for a more chewy / textured oatmeal.

Leave a Reply

Chocolate Covered Katie

The Healthy Dessert Blog

Confessions of a Pioneer Woman | Ree Drummond

A sisters' nook for ruminations, exasperations, and food fixations

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,055 other followers

